First Presbyterian Church Hilton Head had its beginnings when Fred and Billie Hack moved their young family to Honey Horn Plantation in the 1950s and began to hold church services in a small wooden chapel building on their property. This was before a bridge was built to the island and ministers were ferried across to conduct services.
The formal organization as a Presbyterian church occurred on 11 November 1957. The small congregation continued to meet at Honey Horn until 1965 when a new facility was built on land donated by Fred Hack and Owen McIntosh on William Hilton Parkway – the current site of the church. The membership had grown to 95 by this time. In 1968 a classroom expansion was built and by 1970 the congregation had grown to 400.
A New Location
The relocation of the Honey Horn chapel building, where the church began, to the church campus on William Hilton Parkway occurred in 1994.
Responding to the continued growth of the congregation, an expansion of the sanctuary was completed in 1989, bringing the capacity to 1,000. As the largest indoor gathering place on the island, the church is home to the Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra and Hilton Head Chorale Society which perform in the sanctuary throughout the year.
In 2007 the addition of a two-story wing was completed with the first floor dedicated to the First Presbyterian Day School. The most recent update to the facilities was in 2012 which included the creation of the gathering space.
With a current membership of 1200, First Presbyterian Church is a vibrant and well known church in the Hilton Head community.